DJ Premier Blog » 2009 » September » 19

R.I.P. DJ Roc Raida

The forgotten times…

Anthony Williams p/k to the world as The Legendary Grand Master Roc Raida has passed away unexpectedly today Sept 19 2009. He is survived by his wife, 3 lovely daughters, mother and friends. Raida was recently in an mixed martial arts accident, something that he has been practicing for several years. Although he had under gone 2 surgeries with great success, was released to an inpatient physical therapy facility and was in great spirits the past few days. This morning he started to have complications and passed. The family asks for privacy at this time.

This tuesday will DJ Premier and DJ Eclipse donate all their proceeds from the monthly APT gig to Roc Raida‘s family.

Why This is the Official Tracklist of Street Hop

The first tracklist that we posted was actually correct until the label decided different. The album contains 5 DJ Premier produced tracks instead of 6. On the fake tracklist was track 9 “Gimme Money” produced by the man, and was set to be the first single. But the label decided not to pay for the sample to clear it, they didn’t want to give money for a good beat. How wrong is that?! Instead we have Streetrunner with his track called “New Money” to be the first single. Shall we ever hear the original track?! Also we have one extra (new) track, here is the full list:

  1. Gun Harmonizing (Feat. Crooked I) (Produced by Emile)
  2. Count For Nothing (Produced by Streetrunner)
  3. Soldier (Feat. Kid Vishis)
  4. Something 2 Ride (Feat. Phonte)
  5. Dinner Time (Feat. Busta Rhymes)
  6. Far Away
  7. The Warriors (Feat. Slaughterhouse) (Produced by Streetrunner)
  8. …A Brief Intermission (Skit)
  9. New Money (Produced by Streetrunner)
  10. Shake This (Produced by DJ Premier)
  11. Gangsta (Feat. Trick Trick)
  12. Mine In Thiz
  13. Street Hop 2010 (Produced by Six July)
  14. Thing For Your Girlfriend (Hoe Jack) (Feat. Kay Young)
  15. On The Run
  16. Murder
  17. Bad Boy (Feat. Jungle Rock Jr.)
  18. Part Of Me (Produced by Carlos Broady)
  19. Love From The Hood (Feat. Bun B & Joell Ortiz) (Produced by DJ Premier)